The Holidays


My Christmas tree is shoved in front of a bookcase.  It was decorated with care by my mother.  My SO put up decorations outside.  Thanksgiving is over and Christmas is on the way.  I’m somewhere between Scrooge and Santa Claus on the Christmas Cheer scale.  I don’t do decorations.  They aren’t my thing.  Christmas carols are fine the night before Christmas, but not before, and one or two holiday movies a week is all I can stomach.  Even if Santa was an alien intent on sucking out brains and replacing them with coal, I would still only watch one or two a week.

My favorite part of Christmas is the presents.  Yes, I like getting them (bring on the awesomely cute pajamas and movies!).  But I really love giving them.  I take joy in watching people open the presents I have gotten for them.  Sometimes there are complaints, but that’s okay, it’s about the spirit of giving and since I gave you something, it must mean I care enough to shop for you.  This is a huge thing… I don’t shop.  I don’t even like grocery shopping.  And this time of year, it is even more of a disaster to shop because there are long lines and cranky people and screaming children.

Even handmade goods require shopping.  I have to get the materials from somewhere.  Then I have to take the time to make them.

Just something to remember as you go into the holiday season dreading the ugly sweater that your great aunt Olga got you… She at least took the time to think of you and go shopping.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  December 18, 2014

    So true! Thanks for the reminder to be thankful for all gifts:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

