Dark Days


Pete Rose was accused of gambling on baseball, he was not only banned from the sport, but from the Hall of Fame.  Ray Rice knocks his fiance unconscious in an elevator and drags her to their hotel room by the ankles and gets suspended.  Do we have our priorities wrong or is it just me?

I’ve heard the interviews and read the articles about the Ray and Janay Rice incident.  Essentially, I was unmoved by the claims that this was a one-off and that Janay played a role in her own beating.  Or that she was even arrested for her part in the altercation.  The fundamental question is still the same: Should we let these men be role models?

Since, Pete Rose didn’t fight the accusations and punishments regarding his gambling, I’m inclined to believe that he was in fact gambling on baseball, even on his own team.  What I don’t understand is how his crime was somehow worse than the crime of Ray Rice and we, as a society, are allowing it to happen…   If they were two every day Joes, Pete Rose would have gotten a fine for illegal gambling and Ray Rice would have gotten jail time for domestic assault.

And I’ve heard the arguments that Ray Rice just needs counselling, he has anger issues.  Pete Rose sought treatment for a gambling addiction.  Rose is still banned for life while Rice can be picked up by a team and rejoin the NFL.

These are dark days for the NFL and I say that as both a female and a fan of the sport.  They need to start working on their morality clauses.  In a sport as rough and tough as football, they should be able to work out their aggression on the field and their off-field personas should be held to high morality standards.  I’ll keep repeating my rally cry: children do not run home and say they want to be John The Plumber, they come home and say they want to be Jamaal Charles or Derek Jeeter or LeBron James.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  December 15, 2014

    I completely agree with you on this – I have no idea why people aren’t treating Ray Rice like the scourge he is on sports – I’m thinking of switching to Rugby….

    Like

    Reply
  2. T.Vogt

     /  December 15, 2014

    Gotta agree.. but then again we had a president that denied knowing about a simple break in at a hotel and he resigned and left office, he’d opened china diplomatic relations.. done a lot of good was actually one of the better Presidents.. yet died considered a crook.. While we have on in office now that has a scandal every 3 months and only finds out via the TV news that his administration has more criminals and crimes then most felons… naw it couldn’t be anything racial when it’s simply crimes against STUPID people.. and everyone knows that Sharpton is such a peace loving REVEREND.. just my take on things..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

