The Fact Police


My Facebook friends are starting to hate me and I know it and I am pretty sure I’m ok with it.  Like everyone else in the world, I have those friends that post “facts” about things all the time.  I used to point out the inaccurate ones on occasion… lately, I’ve been doing it all the time.

How hard is it to check Snopes.com before hitting the “share” button?  Or how hard is it to wikipedia something to make sure whatever you’re about to spew is at least partially correct?  It would seem that this middle step is incredibly difficult.  People see it and they share it, without checking it to see if it is correct.

I find this terribly annoying.  Between quizzes and status that say “I’m bored,” I don’t also need incorrect information cluttering up my newsfeed, especially since it is easily avoidable.

As I quit smoking, this becomes more of a problem.  I’m going to have zero Facebook friends soon… they are all going to defriend me because I seem to have a compulsion to correct them.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  December 6, 2014

    Lol…this cracks me up! I think all of your Facebook friends are aware that you are ending your smoking days and that it’s putting you somewhat on edge. Plus you are right – I know I am guilty of not checking before I re-post something…sigh…..

    Like

    Reply
  2. T.Vogt

     /  December 8, 2014

    hey, I’ll stick with you ad I don’t fact check everything.. and lord knows my OPINION is pasted everywhere.. so suck it up sweetcheeks you are not alone.. and never will be..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

