Progress


For the next couple of weeks, mostly to motivate myself, I’ll be posting progress updates on my quitting smoking.  I did pretty good today, one cigarette between noon and now (12:52 a.m. my time)… So one cigarette in twelve hours versus about a pack a day, sometimes more.  I would consider that progress.

I’m not having problems getting nicotine, I’m getting plenty of that with the e-cigarette.  I still crave cigarettes, even when I’m feeling like crap from overdosing on nicotine, so it isn’t the nicotine, it’s the habit I crave.  I’ve started using the 12mg and 6mg almost exclusively because I puff away like a freight train trying to curb the urge to hold a cigarette in my hands and smoke it.  After smoking a single cigarette tonight, my urge was sated for a while and I felt a little light-headed from all the nicotine I’d imbibed.  Before I had the cigarette, I was stuffing my face with tiny bowls of popcorn to help curb the urge.  For the record, food doesn’t work for me, it makes the craving worse… Good to know.

I have four flavors in the lower dose: a cinnamon peach, multi-citrus blend, mixed berries, and tropical punch.  I’ve tried the cinnamon peach, citrus blend, and tropical punch and liked all three of them.  Yes, I tested them all in the store, but it’s different when you are hitting it more than once or twice at the store.

Part of the problem with the habit could be that I can’t inhale.  Inhaling makes me cough like I’m drowning and it hurts my chest.  Of course, I’m starting to cough in general.  My lungs clearing up.

In other news, winter is here and I’m not quite sure how the vapor nicotine will work on my arthritis pain.  As strange as it seems, smoking makes my fingers less sore.  I still have to use the creams and wear the fingerless gloves, but I know from past experience, that my hands hurt more when I’m not smoking.  I have also been dealing with a migraine, but it seems to have nothing to do with my quitting smoking.  I pulled the Erector Spinea Muscle group in my back bad enough that it created its own bruise.

However, with heating pad on back, fingerless gloves on hands, e-cigarette hanging from a lanyard cord around my neck, and with Alex working on being sneaky, while the Danes have caught wild animals to keep as their own “children” and Zeke prepares his first Thanksgiving Feast for Nadine’s family, The Dysfunctional Holiday isn’t just underway, it’s ahead of schedule.  I’m over 40% done with the writing….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  December 5, 2014

    Great success on the smoking so far – you may just have to use a non-cigarette oral aid – like a pencil or pen or even something that looks like a ciggy but doesn’t light in any way – like maybe a candy cigarette for your hands – till you get used to not having a cigarette in your hands

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

