Giveaway Guilt


Tomorrow, I am starting a giveaway using Rafflecopter.  I don’t do many giveaways and I’ll explain why in a moment.  The prize is a signed, limited edition hardback of Tortured Dreams.  I’m only having 11 of them printed total, so it really will be a very limited edition prize.  It comes with a special swag pack.  There are two other special swag packs  that are involved in the giveaway.  However, the giveaway hasn’t even started yet and I already feel guilty.

The guilt stems from the problem that there has to be winners and losers.  I get the purpose of a giveaway, but those that enter will be doing it because they like my books (especially since there are some interesting entry options).  So, I feel guilty that I can’t give everyone a grand prize.  Of course, if I could give everyone a grand prize, it would completely negate the purpose of the giveaway…  Circular logic should be one of the rings of Hell.  Just imagine being forced to deal with circular logic all day, every day, from someone like Einstein or Oppenheimer or Alice Cooper (I’m actually a huge fan of Alice Cooper, not so much for his music, but because he is really smart and I just have a thing for smart people… Intelligence is a lot sexier than looks, money, employment, accomplishments, or anything else I can think of that makes one person attractive to another, it is very closely followed by a good sense of humor).

I’ve talked to other writers who told me similar things; yes one person will get a grand prize, but everyone will enjoy participating, giveaways are fun, don’t feel guilty.  But I do.  This is why I haven’t run many (I’ve run one).  And the reason why I balk every time someone suggests one to me.

However, I’m going through with this one and if it goes okay, I will start thinking about future giveaways.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. You have to give your readers some credit. We are smart people (obviously, because we love your books!) but we know that we are entering a contest. We know that there will be a winner and a bunch of people who didn’t win and that is okay. We all have e-copies of your books so I think we are already winners:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. T.Vogt

     /  December 8, 2014

    Some of us don’t need a gift we just enjoy the fun.. and anyone that guilt’s you into getting something isn’t worth fooling with.. and if they don’t win this time.. well they can always get a extra point for the next give away… just to even things out.. me I just like sharing my opinion with you.. your mind is so much more interesting to play in then mine.. ;o}

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

