Oh, Canada! What did I do to you?


Since I began my forays into self publishing, I have been a data monger.  I collect stats on everything.  My conclusion is that Canadians hate me.

My books are available through lots of sites: Amazon, B&N, Smashwords, iBooks, etc.  I do weekly (sometimes, daily) compilations and computations of the data.  For the purpose of this discussion, I’m going to ignore B&N because they don’t tell me from which country my books is being purchased, just that someone bought it.

Here’s what I have discovered:

About 85% of all my sales are from the US.  Another 14% are purchased by people in the UK.  That leaves 1% for everywhere else in the world.  And I am far more likely to sell an ebook in Japan than I am Canada.  As a matter of fact, I’m more likely to sell an ebook in Germany than I am Canada… This is significant because Germany has the lowest amount of e-reader users in the cared-about world right now (meaning, someone bothered to compile stats from the country).

In the last 11 months, I have sold a total of 51 books in Canada.  I’ve sold twice that many in Germany and three times that in Japan.  These purchases are almost exclusively made through iBooks.

Furthermore, iBooks has become my second best selling place, mostly to non-US buyers.  I do sell ebooks in the US through iBooks, but it’s only about 34% of my total sales on the site.  The UK provides a significant amount; almost 30% of my iBook sales.  And Canada lags behind.

I considered it odd enough to do a ratio for free ebooks to purchased in just Canada.  Sadly, for every 100 free books I give away, I get 0.19 purchased books.

Thankfully, although Canada seems to hate my writing, the UK seems to really like it.  For every 100 ebooks I give away, I get 41 purchases.  That’s a whole lot higher than my ratio for US free v. purchased (roughly 10).  Unfortunately, I give away fewer books in the UK than in the US and I get almost no reviews.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  November 26, 2014

    That is odd….I do know a handful of Canadian bloggers but not that many and most seem to read romance…lol

    Like

    Reply
    • I stick with the UK’ains… I am not writing romance. However, that might be why they tend to buy books in the Dysfunctional Chronicles…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

