Butchered Dreams Lack of Backlash


I’m a feedback kind of girl.  Yes, yes, I’m aware of the adage about opinions, but I actually like hearing what other people think.  And I like hearing all of it; negative, positive, incredibly absurd, downright unintelligible… So, unlike most authors, I do read reviews given on my books.  I become giddy when I find I have a new review, doesn’t matter how many stars, I just love getting them.  (This should not discourage anyone from posting a review… I consider negative reviews to be learning experiences, not cause for irritation)

It’s also why I welcome anyone to send me messages on Facebook, post comments there or on my blog, send me messages on Twitter, and for a few, to my personal email account.  However, I am human and occasionally, an opinion makes me stop and shake my head (like the request that my Dreams & Reality Novels be labelled as “Mature.”  It wasn’t righteous indignation that made me write the post about the request, it was an explanation of why I would not do so).

A few days ago, I was reading reviews for the Dreams & Reality Novels.  I hate calling it a series, because that implies they must be read in order and only 2 have to be read that way, Cannibal Dreams & Butchered Dreams.  Butchered makes a lot more sense if you read Cannibal first.  And if you read Butchered first, you’ve missed out on the big reveal of who The Butcher is…

Anyway, after Butchered released, I expected a lot of unhappy readers for a reason… Aislinn refused to deal with the consequences of knowing who The Butcher was.  Gabriel even broached the subject, but Aislinn shut him down, immediately.  I was surprised to find only one person commented on it at all.  This made me realize something very important about the readers of the Cain novels; they just expect to be left with unanswered emotional questions that will be answered when Aislinn decides to resolve it.

Holy hell, that’s a lot of faith to put into me, as a writer.  Originally, I was going to have her deal with it in Butchered, but it felt forced and unnatural for Aislinn, at a time when there was so much other stuff going on (Nyleena, Fiona, her family, and there’s still the pesky issue of Michael, which Aislinn is still trying to ignore), to attack such a complicated situation, especially immediately after the event.  Her character requires distance to understand and deal with things and since no one really commented on it, I think they get that.  But as I said, that’s a lot of faith to put into me as a writer.  I can’t help but wonder if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Christen

     /  January 15, 2015

    I love the Aislinn Cain series. They’re all page turners. I am a sahm to 6 with little free time but when I found a deal on freebooks several months back I was hooked and purchased the rest. Even if that meant 3-4 hours of sleep on nights I’d read after going to bed! I look forward to many more I hope.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

