Looking for the Negative


We all have that person in our life that is always looking for the negative.  The kind that couldn’t find a silver lining if it fell on their head and turned the ground beneath their feet to pure gold… Lately, I have started to become acutely aware of this negativity.

It started with a Facebook friend.  The friend never posts anything positive, never.  It is always some long, drawn out, sniveling whine meant to make others post “I’m here for you” and other missives.  Her loathsome drivel tends to clog up my personal news page, so I ignore them as best I can.  But sometimes, it’s rather difficult, simply because of the sheer volume of posts.

The other thing I have noticed is when she’s on a real tear clogging up the news feed with pessimistic thought after pessimistic thought, the rest of our mutual friends begin to post more negative things.  It’s contagious.  I’ve always known that negativity was contagious, I’ve just never had such proof.  Even I am not immune.  If I start reading her posts, I start thinking about all the negative in the world and suddenly, I feel the need to whine… even if I have nothing to actually whine about.  (I try to be a “unicorns and silver linings” kind of gal)

Having found this negative energy invading my life on Facebook, I started ignoring my personal page.  I haven’t developed an antidote yet except episodes of World’s Dumbest and books on aliens-building-pyramid-conspiracies (although one morning, I found an online video that was five minutes of chipmunks stuffing their cheeks with acorns and yes, I watched all five minutes… they remove the acorn “hats” before shoving them in their mouths and they can do it regardless of having other acorns shoved into the cavity, very cool).

I don’t need my friends to be energy sucks.  There’s enough negativity in the world… I read the news… every day… my phone is even set to alert me to breaking news… I go shopping, where a smiling face (especially this time of year) is nearly impossible to find… I get to tell people I’m a writer and watch as their minds try to figure out if that’s a real job or not… Need I say more?

Yes, we all whine from time to time.  We all have bad days.  We all have days where we get up and wonder why we bothered.  But those days are outnumbered by the days that we wake up and realize half the battle is over… we did manage to wake up (always a good thing).  When it is every day, how are we supposed to keep ourselves from being overwhelmed by the sea of goblins and thunderclouds that seem to guide that person’s life?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

