NaNoWriMo – Day 3 (or one or five…)


It’s about nap time on this blustery and drug-fuelled day, but I thought I would say a few words about my NaNo participation.  Technically, it’s day three of NaNo.  For me, it might as well be day one or day twelve or day six hundred and thirty-seven.  Thank you painkillers!

When you have an idea and time, NaNo is a cinch.  You sit down at the computer during the allotted times and begin cranky out the words.  They don’t have to be good words, they don’t have to be complete sentences… Hell, they don’t have to be completely coherent thoughts.  They just need to be ideas with time.

For most NaNo writers, time is the key factor.  Many have ideas, it’s finding the time to put those ideas down that becomes the problem.  As a full time writer, finding time is rarely my problem and a handful of my NaNo novels have gone on to be edited, re-written, edited again and published.  All of them have been “starters,” the first novel in a series.

This year, I’m doing something different.  I have decided to write the next Dreams & Reality novel for NaNo.  This eliminates the establishment and creation of characters, but it creates some new challenges… staying within the parameters of those characters.  Aislinn Cain, Malachi Blake, Gabriel Henders, Nyleena Clachan, they all have very distinct and defined personalities.  To change them now, would be like replacing the actor doing the part of King Arthur halfway through Monty Python & The Holy Grail.  For the first time, I will have to focus on dialogue and speech patterns.  I will have to focus on the way a character looks or dresses.  And I will have to create my serial killer, which is always the most challenging part of the novel.

So, at the start of Day 3, I had a whopping 326 words.  We’ll see what happens at the end of the day…

And no, I haven’t a clue what I will be publishing in February 2015, just that I will be publishing.  I would like for it to be a non-Dreams novel, making NaNo even more challenging.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D

     /  November 3, 2014

    Good luck with NanoWriMo……

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

