The Law of Unintended Consequences


For roughly three weeks, I battled an ear infection snd sinus infection. The ear infection was extreme enough that I almost constantly had vertigo and antibiotics weren’t all that helpful. Eventually, my ear drum ruptured and I began to get better.

What I didn’t know was that there was more going on.

I grind my teeth in my sleep. I also suffer from decalcification due to chronic dry mouth as well as some sort of congenital dental problem, the name of which I never remember. When I have a migraine, the grinding is worse and I can’t wear the mouth guard… it drives me nuts (my migraines are not caused by the grinding, it is the other way around).

During my fight with the ear infection and sinus infection, I was not wearing a mouth guard. I couldn’t breathe with it in and the sinus migraine caused me to find it annoying.

So, one day I awake with a terrible tooth ache. I have a few “bad” teeth and I had completely shattered one of them. I did the only thing I could, I made an appointment to have it pulled.

X-rays showed that all that grinding had fractured the roots of several of my teeth. Coupled with the shattered tooth and it was not an easy extraction. There was cutting, wiggling, scraping, ect. When the Lidocaine wore off, I discovered a new level of pain. It beat every migraine I had experienced and every cyst and even the kidney stone was a walk in the park in comparison.  For possibly the first time in couple of decades, I was willing to take 2 pain killers at a time.

That was Thursday. As I write these words, I am still in an amazing amount of pain (I do not have dry socket). There is still a gaping hole in my gum and jaw. Chewing, even small amounts of soft food, is agony. Drinking is torture and perhaps for the first time in my life, I am finding myself suffering from mild dehydration.

I think it is worse because it was a bottom tooth and just closing my mouth scrapes my upper tooth along the irritated gum.

The best part, I get to do it again. I shattered 2 teeth, but they are on opposite sides as well as one being a bottom molar and the other a
top… so they would only pull them one at a time. I am grateful, in hindsight, if they had pulled both, I’d be eating through an IV. 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D

     /  November 2, 2014

    OMG Hadena! I am so so sorry you are having to go through this – You have had a very rough year health wise! I hope you feel better soon and that they find a way to make things better for you when you have to go in and have the 2nd tooth taken care of. Gentle Hugs!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

