The Ordeal With The Magnuson Grand Continues


Last week, I posted about my experience with the Magnuson Grand Hotel of Fayetteville in Arkansas.  You can read it here.  I gave the hotel a few days to return my money before actually publishing the post.  When they didn’t, I went ahead and let the world read it.

Today is the sixth business day.  Guess what?  No money.

At this point, I’m not even sure it’s about the $160 due to be refunded.  It’s about customer service and acceptable business practices.  This is not some internet scam or online business headquartered in the someone’s basement.  They have a physical address.  I’ve been there!

I’ve issued refunds before at different places where I worked, it isn’t that difficult.  I admit, I’ve never worked in a hotel, but could it really be so different?  Also, we have provided the hotel with documentation of the extra charge.  Yet, we do not deserve even a call back?

The original charge happened 25 September.  I was informed 7 October that the refund had been issued.  It is now 15 October and despite leaving a message yesterday, I did not get a return call.

So, I have taken it to the next level.  I have contacted the Arkansas State Attorney General’s office and filed a complaint.  I am flabbergasted by the lack of contact and communication from the hotel.  How can a business be run is such a fashion?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Clearly shoddy business practices run rampant at this hotel! Have you contacted your bank since the funds came out of your debit card? You might have to file a “fraudulent”: charge complaint with the bank to get your money back. How ridiculous…takes maybe five minutes to do a reversal/refund when they have the documentation. Heck…they could even cut you a check and mail it in that amount of time.

    Like

    Reply
    • I believe we are filing a “dispute claim” with our bank. Essentially, it means our bank fights with their bank to get our money back.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

