Still Awake


It’s 2 am and I’m still awake.  Mainly because I’m still sick.  When I lay down,  my head clogs and I cough more.

All this night time awake hours has led to thinking about “writing as work.”  Especially since I am currently not writing a new book. I have 4 paragraphs on a new novel, but that’s it.

I know a lot of writers treat it as a job. The work the standard 8 hour day and then make time for the rest of their life.

Not me. I write because I love it. However if the words are not flowing, I don’t force them. It’s counter-productive.  Sometimes,  it’s just laziness.  Sometimes,  it’s because whatever I’m writing is fleshed out enough in my head. Sometimes, it’s a lack of ideas.

For example, the next Dreams novel could be in progress… But it’s missing a killer and I’ve just sent the mysterious, creepy sidekick after a Jack the Ripper copycat. So, what sort of monster should Aislinn and the SCTU start chasing? No killer, no novel.

My 4 pathetic paragraphs are the start of a fantasy trilogy. Yet, it isn’t finished forming in my head. I have an idea for a horror novel, but no characters.

If I start forcing these onto a page, they will be clunky and garbled.  They won’t even qualify as a rough draft.  In this way, writing sometimes fail to adhere to an 8 hour day.  And I am fine with these lapses from time to time. It keeps writing interesting. Sometimes the thinking of and rejection of ideas is just as necessary as putting words on a page.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hope you feel better soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

