I hate the editing process…


I know, I sound like I’m beating a dead horse, but I’m not.  It isn’t actually editing that I hate.  I hate the process of editing.  Here it is:

1.  I send a manuscript to the editor.

2.  The editor goes through the manuscript and sends it back.

3.  I (using the track changes function) look at every change the editor has made and accept or reject them based on some intangible concept that gets plucked from the ethereal.  (There are usually about 5,000 marks on a manuscript of average length, I type fast, but not at the same speed as my brain works)

4.  I send it back to the editor.

5.  The editor goes through it again.  (This time there are usually an addition 500 changes, most them to things I changed – like entire rewritten paragraphs and what-not)

6.  I get it back from the editor and go through the suggested changes yet again, accepting or rejecting using different mystical objects; Ouija boards, divination rods, crystals, chicken bones or Tarot cards, depending on my mood.

7.  The manuscript goes to the Beta Readers.

8.  The beta readers find more errors and suggest even more changes.  These trickle in over a period of a couple of weeks.

9.  I read through all the suggested changes and accept or reject them using a Magic 8 Ball.

10.  The final two readers go through the manuscript and inevitable find yet another spelling error and another paragraph that still doesn’t make sense and has their own feelings about the way the book flows.

11.  I either tell them where to shove it or I implement their changes.

12.  Realizing that I have now read at least several parts of the book at least 17 times, I publish it, vowing to never read it again.

Honestly, I don’t mind the edits.  They make the book better.  It’s the time it takes to go through the process that bugs me and in three weeks, I really will read the book 17 times or more.  I will actually hate the book by the time it gets ready for publication.  It is during this time that I start to second guess myself (maybe I should have done this instead) and wonder about the plot (does it have holes in it?  I mean, more holes than it should?  Some Cain novels need a few holes…).

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sounds like a torturous process….though I have to say that your methods of deciding crack me up (chicken bones, crystals, Magic 8 ball).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

