Dreams and Reality


Last night, I dreamed that I was running through the woods, away from something and got shot in the right eye with an arrow.  It was an incredible pain; blinding, throbbing, radiating – shooting pains throughout my cheek and forehead.  It was like nothing I had ever felt before.

The pain woke me up.  To my horror, being awake didn’t stop it.  The pain still existed, it felt like my eyeball was trying to explode out of its socket.  After a few moments of semi-conscience incomprehension, I realized I had a severe sinus migraine.  I got up, took a NyQuil, rubbed my face down with Vicks VapoRub and waited.  The pain didn’t subside.  Unsure what else to do, I turned on the heating pad and used it as a pillow.

Heat was the missing ingredient.  A few moments of intense warmth and I could hear my sinuses begin to pop, crackle, and hiss.  The migraine began to subside.  And with my face still firmly planted on the heating pad, I fell back asleep.  Nor more dreams of arrows or other sharp pointing things stuck in my eye.

I slept for an hour or so.  My SO waking me up because my coughing had intensified while I slept and I was starting to cry again in my sleep (the heating pad has an automatic timer).  Grabbing the heating pad, my blanket, and my pillow, I moved to the couch and slept fitfully for a few more hours.

Today, the sinus migraine is starting again.  I have a feeling there are a few more days of sleeping on the couch in my future.  However, it’s interesting, as the heat subsided and the migraine started again, I once again began dreaming of sharp things in my eye.  Funny how dreams often alert you to reality.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

