How Rob Zombie Ruined Concerts For Me


Sometime between 2006 and 2007, I attended a Rob Zombie concert in Kansas City, Kansas.  It was a smaller venue, with a dirt ring around the stage, the name is long gone.  It was part of the Educated Horses Tour, but that’s as close as I can get to remember to a date.

As we waited outside, the sky overhead was overcast.  It wasn’t raining as we stood in line.  We weren’t in the pit (the “we” here is my best friend and I and it is rather unusual for us not to be in the pit…so perhaps there wasn’t one), we actually had seats.  The line moved and they let us in before the rain came.

There was an opening band, but I don’t remember them.  At the time, I liked Rob Zombie’s music.  I wasn’t a “dedicated fan.”  I didn’t have huge posters of Zombie and I just can’t get into his movies.  I had enjoyed Hellbilly Deluxe, but there were fewer songs on Educated Horses that I liked.  However, I had seen him before and he put on a good show.  He is electric on stage.  His energy is contagious.  The slide shows are odd and occasionally, disturbing (I like disturbing).  And it’s a given that he’s going to have go-go dancers somewhere, tastefully dressed go-go dancers at that.  His shows are almost “child-friendly” depending on your degree of what counts as “child-friendly.”  I would have taken my nephews to see him live (and think I did in St. Louis once).

Anyway, he takes the stage, plays his set, comes back on for the encore and the show ends… but it doesn’t actually end.  After going back stage for a few minutes, Rob Zombie reappeared and he had an announcement to make.  The storm had gotten bad during the show, the tornado sirens were currently blaring outside the venue and we couldn’t leave as a result.  So, since we couldn’t leave and he couldn’t leave, the show would go on.  In this second performance, he didn’t play any of his own music, he played covers of other bands; Led Zepplin, Johnny Cash, Nine Inch Nails and George Strait were the ones I remembered.

I went to a couple of concerts after that, but I kept wondering, if they were in the same position as Zombie, would they come back out and play for an extra hour just because the fans were stuck there?  Sadly, I always figured the answer was “no.”  I hadn’t expected Zombie to do it (the man has energy… concerts are exhausting), but he did and that struck a chord with me.  Since then, I’ve become a Rob Zombie fan.  It’s the little things that leave the biggest impressions.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

