Review Tip


As an author, I understand the need for reviews. As a reader, I understand it’s a giant pain in the ass.

However, I have a tip. If you are reading a series, you don’t have to review the first book. Review the most recently released or review your favorite. If I was reading/reviewing the Dreams series, I would probably leave my review for Explosive… Her long moments of introspection cracks me up. Especially when she realizes she’s boring.

There you have it. If you love a series, you don’t have review every book or the first book… Just review the ones you really enjoy.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 14, 2014

    Good advice – I’d really like to know what an author wants to see in a review – I often feel like I need to come up with at least a couple of “unique” things to say and that’s where I’m mostly getting stuck….lol…I have to say that “Ace” cracks me up in pretty much every book!

    Like

    Reply
    • I like to know what a reader liked and/or didn’t like. A good example is “I liked how the characters work as a team. The main character is flawed by interesting. I don’t like the ‘wikipedia-ish’ information that the main character spews in every book.”

      Also, I really like to know if there was a specific part that really got them in the book. For example: “The part where Ace pulled off the serial killer’s jaw was horrific and showed exactly how much monster Aislinn can be.” Or “I couldn’t stomach the part where Ace pulled off the killer’s jaw, I had to skip it.”

      Both of these help us understand why we got the rating we did from the reviewer.

      Also, with a one or two star rating the phrase “this book just wasn’t for me” is great. It makes the author realize that “this person didn’t like it, but it’s a personal preference and not anything I did wrong.”

      The least helpful reviews are “I didn’t like this book” and “I loved this book.” Both are acceptable, but it gives us nothing to work from. Why did you love the book? Why did you hate the book? Why? Why? Why?

      Also, I like short reviews, as both a writer and a reader. They have more punch and even I get bogged down reading long reviews.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

