Um… What? That Can’t Be Right!


This morning, as I did my daily stat count and paperwork on book sales (because I’m very particular about this and have the giant spreadsheet to prove it), I noticed something very odd.  Something that has been going on for a while, but was somehow missed.  Something weird to say the least.

I have two free books on Amazon; Dark Cotillion and Tortured Dreams.  From time to time, I’ll drop the prices on a book to $0.99, usually when I’m about to release a book or just because I’ve gotten a wild hair.  This skews the numbers slightly, but only for a short period of time.  For example, I dropped the price of Mercurial Dreams for two days in May from $3.99 to $0.99.  And sold a ton of copies, enough copies to make it look like I had a 102.54% reader return rate.  As the month ended and we moved into June, the numbers balanced out and I went back to having a 84.67% reader return rate for Mercurial Dreams.

However, the odd thing is not with the Dreams series, it’s with the Strachan series.  If a reader manages to struggle through book one, I have excellent reader retention for the series (from book 1 to 2 is about 4.43% from book 2 to 3 is 98.11%).  This morning though, I realized that I had a 156% oversell on book 4.  What that means is that for every 100 copies of Dark Resurrections that I sell, I sell 156 copies of Dark Legacies.  That can’t be right… My formula must have gotten a glitch.  I checked it, same number came up.  So I moved to the master sheet.  This tells me exactly how many of each book has been sold over the course of its life.

And I was shocked.  I had indeed sold more copies of Dark Legacies than I had of Dark Resurrections.  Not just ten or fifteen more books, but hundreds.  I did another formula to check.  I’ve sold more copies of Dark Legacies than I have of Dark Illumination too.  The rate isn’t quite as high, but it is higher.  The conclusion I’ve drawn from this is that some people read Dark Cotillion and then skip to the end and read Dark Legacies.  What a peculiar thing…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

