Butchered Dreams, The Dysfunctional Wedding, Hunting the Spell, and My Writing Goals


Have I mentioned that I actually despise the new WordPress set up?  In case I haven’t, let me say it now.  I hate it.

Ok, onto the post.

I have set lofty goals for myself over the next few months.  Butchered Dreams is supposed to be finished by 10 October.  This means I have to write at least 1,300 words per day (excluding weekends).  I can actually do this.  On Thursday night, I put down 3,000 in under two hours.  As long as I don’t get distracted or thrown a curve ball, this is an achievable goal.  It will publish on 14 November.  Beta readers should get it on 15 October.

After I finish Butchered Dreams, I’m going to really dive into The Dysfunctional Wedding novella.  Thankfully, it’s a novella, and if I start on it 11 October, it will be written by 1 November.  I’m thinking a December release.  This will require 1,600 words a day, another easily achievable goal for me.  

1 November is the start of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  The goal is 50,000 words in 30 days.  I’ve reached this goal every year but one (and I failed dismally at CampNaNo in July due to my father’s health).  My NaNo novel will be Hunting the Spell: Book One of the Callie Strachan Trilogy.  My goal is to have the 50,000 words done by 30 November.  However, 50,000 words doesn’t really make much of a novel, so in December, I’ll be adding onto the word count.  I’ll finish it 1 January.  It will release February 15, 2015.  

I like to publish a novel every three months (February, May, August, and November, with a novella or two thrown into the mix).  This year, I was sidelined by my father’s health and my father-in-law’s health as well.  And I hate to admit it, but for a while, I was worried that my father and my father-in-law were both going to pass this year.  It was a scary place to be, not just for me, but for everyone.  I’m overjoyed that they are both on the mend and while they aren’t completely out of the woods yet, both have good prognoses.  It’s amazing how much different I felt Thursday after my father-in-law came out of surgery with a thumbs up… which is why Thursday night, I managed to be incredibly productive in a short time.  It’s been months since I wrote more than 1,000 words per hour.  However, we’ll deal with fathers in tomorrow’s post.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 6, 2014

    I was going to switch to WordPress because so many of my blogger friends use it but lately they seem to have taken a rather bad attitude towards bloggers that I’v held off….lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

