The Hard Part Of Being A Writer


I am often asked things like: Is it hard constantly coming up with new ideas?  Do the crazy hours get to you?  Is it hard to meet deadlines, especially as an indie with no one to hold you accountable?  Is it hard to market yourself?

The answer to most of these is “no.”  It isn’t hard to come up with new ideas, it’s hard deciding which ones I should use and which ones belong on the chopping block.  The “crazy hours” are a choice for me.  I could write a little more in the afternoons or mornings, but honestly, the ideas flow easiest in the dark hours of the night.  I can meet a deadline, I work better with them, even self-imposed deadlines.  I actually like deadlines, it gives me a goal.  Yes, I missed one this past month, but that was do to health problems with my father.  Yes, it’s hard to market myself, I don’t even like to talk about myself, let alone “sell” myself.

However, these are not the hardest things about writing.  For me, the hardest part is sticking to it.  Sometimes, my brain and body don’t exactly seem to be on the same page.  My brain wants to do one thing, my body another.  For example today, my body wanted a nap, my brain wanted to write.  Then my brain got on the “nap time” train and my body decided it was time for a snack.  Eventually, my brain won out and I took a nap.  When I woke up, I wrote two thousand words.  Then I had to darts, so I didn’t write anything more today, but my goal was met, so it wasn’t a big deal.  I did not give into snack time, but I did have nap time.

The world is better with nap time anyway.  🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 4, 2014

    I agree…naps are the best!

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m a sucker for snack time!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

