The Movie That Terrified Me


In my younger days, I watched all the horror films that came out.  Some by choice, some not so much (my sister is 10 1/2 years older than I am if that tells you anything).  Despite the fact that I had seen slasher flicks like Halloween, Friday the 13th, and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, only one movie actually terrified me… Maximum Overdrive.

With Encore currently having a Stephen King marathon and all of it is available on On-Demand, I decided to relive some Stephen King favorites.  It started with Desperation, a book I loved and a movie I hadn’t seen in years.  I’m also a huge Ron Perlman fan, so that added to the appeal of Desperation.

However, after it ended, I began scrolling through the Encore movie titles and found Maximum Overdrive.  I saw it about a year ago, not the entire thing, just the final half hour.  Tonight, I decided to load it up and watch it go.

The moment it started, that childish fear overtook me again.  There is something very sinister about comets controlling anything with a battery.  Think about how many items are controlled by batteries, especially now!  Telephones, laptops, and tablets are just the beginning.  Our gadgets have gotten bigger and badder; from blenders to cars, we’ve improved our technology by leaps and bounds since the writing or filming of Maximum Overdrive.  Imagine the Ninja or a new fangled riding mower coming to life, intent on maiming and killing.

For me, there are still scenes I have trouble watching; like the garbage disposal scene and I am slightly phobic of the contraptions, worried that I will be finger-less after grabbing a knife from within the confines of the drain.  No movie has ever terrified me like Maximum Overdrive and because of that, I love it!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 2, 2014

    Lol…Maximum Overdrive didn’t really scare me much…for me it was the Freddy Krueger movies because of their ties to organized religious things. It was like a subliminal thing for me. I’m not a fan of blood and gore but a good psychological thriller gets to me…Seven with Morgan Freeman is one of those that left a lasting impression.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jack

     /  September 3, 2014

    Out of curiousity, did you watch The Shining again?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

