Classification – The Importance of Getting it Right


The Dreams & Reality books have been classified as a lot of different things. I marked it as a mystery and a thriller. Somehow, it was further categorized as horror.

The series is dark, but it is certainly not horror… I’ve even questioned it being a mystery series.

Monday, I ran an ad with ENT. Huge download numbers poured in and I noticed a book that was frequently bought with it. So, I grabbed the book. It was listed as “crime fiction.” I had never seen this category.

A little investigative work told me I was right. The Dreams & Reality books are “crime fiction > serial killers.” I immediately set about rearranging the book for this category and wow!

Three days into it, downloads are still incredibly high. But more importantly, I’m seeing a rise in the number of “satisfied readers.” My Facebook page is grabbing more followers. My blog reads have picked up. Reviews are starting to come in. Twitter followers are rising and retweets are starting to happen. And sales of the rest of the series have picked up, significantly.

Sometimes, it requires research and trial and error to find where your book really belongs. When you do find it though, you’ll see results within a few days.

Funny how that works.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

