Weird Sales Trends


I’ve been watching this year and I’ve discovered something a little strange.  Something that wasn’t there last year.  It’s a weird sales trend.  I’m going to use easy (fake) numbers to demonstrate.

In December, I sold 400 books.  In January, I sold 100 books.  In February, I released Dark Legacies and sold 200 books.  In March, I sold 400 hundred books.  In April, I sold 100 books.  In May, I released Explosive Dreams and sold 200 books.  In June, I sold 400 books.  In July, I sold 100 books.  Now it’s August and the release of Cannibal Dreams has been delayed, I’ve sold 100 books.  However, I have pre-orders piling in, so that number should raise significantly on the last day of the month.

Last year however (2013), book sales were more steady; January 100, February 200, March 200, April 300, May 300, June 400, July 400, August 400, September 500, October 500, November 400, December 400.

Now, making Tortured Dreams free has lead to a significant increase in book sales, but the bizarre trend continues.  It appears that the month before I release a book, I have the worst sales.  The month after I release a book, I have the best sales.

I don’t know how to explain it.  Also, the months that the Dreams & Reality Series was enrolled in KDP Select (September, October, and November), I had the best sales.  I didn’t sell any on other sites of course, but my sales on other sites are less than 10% of my total book income.  So, the lack of sales on these sites, didn’t actually hurt me, because I sold more than enough on Amazon to cover any losses from the other book retailers.

I’m not much on exclusivity though and after I got through the ordeal with the series, I released them again through other retailers.  I am noticing an uptick in sales on Apple, but not B&N, even with the two free books being offered.  They still account for less than 15% of my total sales and they seem to fluctuate less (I hold pretty steady at a certain amount each month from the two major retailers mentioned).

Why I have such a large decline in book sales the month before I release a book is still a mystery.  I’ll continue to follow it and see where it leads me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

