Pre-Orders Now Available on Amazon


Last week, Amazon decided to offer indies the opportunity to put books on pre-order for up to 90 days.  This is huge.  Smashwords already offers this service and I’ve been thinking for a while about how beneficial it would be if Amazon would jump on that bandwagon.

Now, they have.  This means that the night before my book is set to release, I’m not scrambling to get it loaded to Amazon.  Occasionally, there are issues getting books loaded and I have been known to release books a day early just in case there are complications.

So, Cannibal Dreams has been scheduled to release on 31 August.  It is available now for pre-order.

However, before you dive in and start setting up release dates 90 days in the future, there’s a catch.  Ten days before the book releases it has to be submitted to Amazon in finalized form.  If you mess it up, you lose your privileges for a year.  I think this is fair.  There is no penalty on Smashwords, they just release your crappy, unfinished novel or expect it to be finished when you put it up for pre-release.  For most, I don’t think this would be a problem.  However, in the case of Cannibal Dreams, it would be and I haven’t put it up for pre-order yet on Smashwords because I need the next three days to make all the changes.

Ok, off to work.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  August 18, 2014

    Very cool!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

