Amazon v. Hatchett


I wasn’t going to get involved in this, it isn’t my fight.  But I got tired of reading articles where authors were whining that Amazon was killing their sales.  Wake up… Amazon isn’t ruining your sales, your publisher is…

Now, before we get into the hate mail, I’ll address a few of those before they arrive.  I don’t hate traditional publishing.  I don’t like it either.  I’ve been offered a dozen contracts, give or take a few, during the last 16 years.  I’ve never accepted one because they were never right for me. These nuggets of hope, in the form of legal jargon, used to excite me.  Now, they depress me.  I’ve been offered two in the last year.  However, Indie Publishing is right for me, that’s why I do it.  Yes, it’s more expensive; editors, cover artists, formatters, etc.  I also keep more money and price my books cheaper.  It makes sense to me.

Back to the point, Amazon isn’t ruining your sales, your publisher is.  I’ve fallen behind reading some series that I really like.  None of them are Hatchett authors, but they are traditionally published.  About two weeks ago, I decided to drop the money to buy a few and I was fully expecting to pay through the nose for the Kindle versions.  Imagine my surprise when I didn’t have to… Several had dropped their price tags from $10.99 and higher to a nice $4.99 or $5.99 or $6.99.

And here’s the big secret… if I can buy 3 Janet Evanovich Kindle ebooks for the price of one of yours, guess who’s getting my money?  It isn’t you.  The other big secret… Most of the authors I like are doing this.  I can buy a Clive Barker or Terry Pratchett ebook for a little less than their paperbacks.  I love Discworld, but it got pushed to the back of my reading list for a while after book 11 (there are 40 of them now), because I just didn’t have the time.  Now, I can buy two or three of them for the price of your ebook.  Even Dean Koontz has dropped prices on his older books.  I have only read one Jim Butcher book, however, the price for the Kindle version of his older titles is now $5.99.  I wasn’t real impressed with the first Dresden Files book, but at that price, I might give the second a try, because I know so many people love them (and I loved the TV show).

See, I don’t have to spend $14.99 or something just as ridiculous to buy your ebook because I can get great quality, traditionally published, books much cheaper.  The newest Evanovich novel is only $10.99 for Kindle, but by the time I read 15-20, the price will probably be lower.  There are going to be die-hards who spend the $10.99 (my friend already has), but for me, I don’t need the book today, I have tons to read and tons to be read, so if your book stays priced at $14.99 or whatever, chances are good, I’m never going to read it.  Therefore, your publisher has lost you my money… Not Amazon.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  August 15, 2014

    I have to totally agree with what you’ve said – the price of the book is often what determines the format I buy and the book I buy and I am drawing the line at some of the expensive books – I try to wait till the price comes down because really if you buy 2 new release books at $14.99 a piece…that is the price of a tshirt or blouse I can wear to work…lol…

    Like

    Reply
    • People seem to forget that books are a luxury item. Some months we have more to spend, sometimes less and when we know we are going to have less, we attempt to stock up when we have more. That greatly impacts what I am going to buy.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

