Zombified


Last weekend, I got a bug bite that turned into a rash. Tuesday, I got a migraine. Yesterday I decided the two might be related. Sure, I have migraines, but bug bite rashes are uncommon for me.

So, I went to the ER. It was a Saturday, my doctor was closed, urgent care had a long wait.

Five hours later (oh yeah, five hours of hell… I was crying in the waiting room the stimuli was so intense… phones, chatter, smells, lights, they all bothered me), I get to see the doctor. The rash is just an allergic reaction, hydro-cortisone cream will take care of that. Now, about the migraine. It’s been unresponsive to your normal migraine medications, we’ll give you something for it. What do you usually get?

Tordol, Demerol, and Fennigren or whatever it’s called, for nausea.

No Demerol, but we’ll give you something good. Let’s go with morphine.

Morphine… Uh, what? And we’ll up the dosage just a little bit to make sure it stays away. Uh… Uh… Uh… Oh hell…

For 36 hours, I’ve been a zombie. Of the last 48 hours, I’ve slept over half of them. I even fell asleep during the finale of World Cup (woke up just in time to see Germany score the winning goal). I don’t remember most of yesterday. I have been told that after the shot kicked in, I was very entertaining. I’ll just have to take their word for it.

I have a high pain tolerance, but no drug tolerance. I can handle my clonazepam, but I don’t do well on narcotics of any kind. A Vicodin will make me sleepy and sick. Demerol puts me in la-la land. Morphine is like… oh my goodness gracious me… I’ve only had it a few times in my life, but every time I’ve had it, I’ve lost time and not like a few hours, but like several hours, possibly days.

Even as I write this, I feel… strange. At least my migraine is gone.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  July 13, 2014

    Well…I hope the bite rash is gone and that the Morphine comes out of your system fast! I don’t know if I’ve ever had Morphine – I don’t think so though…lol

    Like

    Reply
    • They might as well shoot me up with “forget your life” drugs when they give me morphine. I’ve had it for ovarian cysts in the past, this was the first for a migraine. My brains feel scrambled still… I don’t know if it’s a hangover from the meds or the migraine. Looking at the silver lining, I’m learning a lot from watching COPS… everything else requires too much brain power to follow.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

