Coming Soon?


A week or so ago, I went to a local book store and made arrangements to not only have them carry my books, but also scheduled my first book signing.  The signing isn’t until October, which is good, because I’m terrified of it.  The books should be in the store by the last week of July.

It doesn’t sound like a huge step, but for me… it’s massive.  I don’t do well in crowds or around people or talking about my own books or reading aloud or well, let’s just be honest, anything really that promotes myself.

Yeah, that’s my big news.  Village Books in Columbia will be carrying the Dreams & Reality Series and the Strachan Series.  I will be doing a reading and signing 25 October (Halloween signing… wonder if they’ll let me come in costume, I could come as the Invisible Writer).

I’ve been trying very hard not to think about it.  When I do think about it, my stomach fills with butterflies and I want to run away, literally.  I’m planning on practicing and I need to talk about what we can do for the reading since I’ll be releasing a book in November.  I figure I’ll put that on my to-be-discussed list when I take books into the store.

Ok, back to the grind.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hey that’s a big damn step be proud! Were you published or did you go the self published route? Not to be too nosy you don’t have to tell me I’m a relatively new reader. Anyways I am terminally ill with Churg Strauss Vasculitis and hold 4 job and just released my first ebook this year. I’m looking for a publisher for a second book of poetry I’ve written. And I am currently on chapter 4 of writing my story with this terminal illness. I plan to live a damn good 15 years and sure hope I get longer!

    But honestly don’t let anything get you down this is huge for you an you’re stepping outside of your comfort zone to do this that’s amazing of you.

    Like

    Reply
    • I am self published… I just couldn’t agree with any contracts I was offered.

      Like

      Reply
      • Hey it’s an honorable route nowadays I am looking to be published but not for the money to make more speaking opportunities for myself I want the publicity to raise awareness about my condition! If you ever want to chat about public speaking or networking just hit the contact me link on my page or email me at migrainediscussions@gmail.com I will get back to you and help in any way I can free off charge just to help a fellow writer.

        Like

  2. Maria D.

     /  July 8, 2014

    Squee! I am so proud of you for getting up the courage to do this. Who knows…maybe I’ll get up the courage to drive to Columbia for the signing:)

    Like

    Reply
    • I would love to meet you in person and if I can get up the courage to do this… You should be able to get up the courage to drive two hours to meet me! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

