Once Upon A Time…


There used to be a time when I could watch or read anything I pleased, then go to bed and sleep like a baby.  Sure, I had vivid dreams, but they weren’t influence my intake of TV, movies or books.  Two months ago that began to change.

I didn’t notice it at first.  Then one night, I watched the cartoon Puss in Boots with Antonio Banderas before going to bed.  That night, I dreamed an orange tabby cat that was missing two legs stabbed me in the thigh with a knife because my SO suggested we put the poor cat out of it’s misery.  How do I know the two were related?  The cat spoke with a Spanish accent and looked like the CGI cat from the movie.  Oh yeah, talk about screwy dreams.

Now, I have a ton of screwy dreams.  All of them seem to be based on what I’ve read or watched during the day.  One night, I watched a documentary on hippos and dreamed that hippos were rampaging through town in search of dogs to mate with, so everyone was taking in strays to stop the creation of super hippo/dogs.  While watching the documentary, I read an article on the possibility of gene splicing animal DNA to help endangered species by inserting foreign DNA into the sequence that allowed them to adept to different environments.  I think super hippo/dogs would definitely qualify as being influenced by what I had read and watched.

However, it beats the hell out of the dream I had a few nights ago.  I made the mistake of watching the movie Seven and then crawling into my bed.  I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve watched the movie.  I can tell you that it has never triggered a nightmare before.  That night it did as I pulled my friends’ head out of boxes in my dreams.

So, I’ve been relegated to watching children’s movies and animal shows before bed.  I still have the weird dreams, but at least they are cartoon-ish or like the super hippo/dogs, not my dead friends and family.  They tell me this can be a side effect of menopause… meaning I have a while to get used to the new sleeping routine.

On a side note, my own writing does not seem to impact my dreams.  I can write before bed and not dream about my own serial killers coming to life… However, I haven’t done the main test.  I’m 15 chapters into Cannibal Dreams and haven’t written any of the killer’s chapters.  I’m waiting for an inspired morning, until then, they just have place markers.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 26, 2014

    Lol…a puss in boots inspired dream….lol…i don’t have dreams that I remember …I’m sure I have dreams but I can’t ever remember them…lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

