Doing It Wrong


There are a lot of things I do wrong as an author.  First and foremost, I’m terrible at marketing.  I’m terrible about getting reviews.  I’m terrible about pre-publication hype.  I’m just bad at all of that stuff…

For example, Maria with Queen of All She Reads is better at marketing my books than I am (I am grateful for her support… go follow her blog, if you’re an author, ask her to do a review, give her a shout out and lots of love, because she’s fairly marvelous).  Today she hosted Dark Cotillion as part of my book tour.  She threw in a bonus by adding her reviews for Mercurial Dreams & Explosive Dreams in a spotlight post and she’s hosting a giveaway with them.  I’ve thought about doing giveaways, but I find Rafflecopter to be overwhelming (silly, I know… everybody uses it).

I try to run adverts with different sites at different times for different reasons, I have a checklist at the beginning of the month.  Normally, most of it does not get checked off.  If I could manage two a month, that would be great.  Unfortunately, I forget most months and I’m lucky to run one.  I should be getting adept at the whole running adverts thing.

I am supposed to be doing more blog tours.  I’ve gotten one arranged… for the year… it’s running now.  Why haven’t I run more?  I’m not sure.

My goal for the rest of this year will be to invest more time promoting my books and myself… Wish me luck, I’m going to need it.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 23, 2014

    Happy to help:) Marketing yourself is harder because it’s you that you are selling – it’s much easier to sell someone else:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. the devil on your shoulder

     /  June 24, 2014

    you should set nag, ^h^h^h reminders in your favorite calendar program (or in multiple calendars) to remind you. Set the first one at the beginning of the month and then reminders every week after that. it takes 6 weeks to make something a habit so I would set them for 3 months until you remember to do them every week/month. you have a shiney new iphone, set reminders in the calendar and in the tasks and also add them to your google calendar.

    and to add to that reply locked in your head – it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill ….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

