Weird Dreams


Over the last couple of months, my nightmares have become weird.  I’m being chased by garden gnomes.  Scary garden gnomes on top of that.  How does a garden gnome become scary?  I don’t know.  I just know that the stupid dream which should have just be categorized as “weird” woke me up in a fit of terror.  I’m not phobic of garden gnomes, I think they are pretty cute.  So, it’s strange to be terrorized in my dreams by yard ornament.

Unfortunately, it isn’t just garden gnomes that now plague my nightmares.  Dragons, hippos, topiary (I will admit that I’m slightly phobic of topiary thanks to Stephen King, but I’ve never dreamed about it before), and shoes with broken heels are also among the strange occurrences.  Here’s the thing, I don’t wear shoes with heels and frankly, if I did and they broke, it wouldn’t require me to panic.  It might require me to become extremely annoyed, but instill me with fear… I think not.  Yet, in the dream, it does.

How do I write about death, gore, and horror when I’m suddenly dreaming about terrifying events like dragons raiding my mother’s garden?  Or hippos chasing dogs through the streets of my hometown?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Now I want to write a scene with a dragon invading a garden!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maria D.

     /  June 12, 2014

    Maybe you are having “Ace’s” nightmares? Could be …..lol

    Like

    Reply
    • I think she would dream about blood, guts, and gore, not dragons eating tomatoes or garden gnomes with wooden swords chasing her because she walked on the grass…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

