The Death Of Epic Rock


There was an article the other day about the death of “epic rock.”  Since I am a child of the ’80’s and ’90’s and have a mother who really likes rock, I was curious.  The article was about how rock bands of today would not be appearing on “Oldies” stations in twenty or thirty years.

I can sort of agree with that.  I have trouble telling Saving Abel, Hinder, Theory of a Deadman, Nickelback, and some other band that I don’t know the name of, apart.  However, I can always identify Godsmack.  I’m not a fan of Godsmack, but they don’t sound like the above named bands.  Oddly, I do like songs by all the names I can’t identify, but I don’t even bother trying to tell them apart anymore.

But what qualifies as “epic?”  I grew up listening to the darker side of music.  The harder and darker the better.  I’m not talking about Goth music, it was too… floaty for me.  I prefered Type O NegativeNine Inch Nails, Front Line Assembly, KMFDM, and Marilyn Manson… Furthermore, I’m a huge fan of Rob Zombie, Ozzy Osbourne (who is timeless), and Henry Rollins (this last is a bit odd, even for me).  For me, several of these bands are epic, but the article listed ten, in no particular order:

  1. The Rolling Stones
  2. U2
  3. Eric Clapton
  4. Elton John
  5. Metallica
  6. Creedence Clearwater Revival
  7. The Beatles
  8. Guns ‘N Roses
  9. Nine Inch Nails
  10. Rammstein

These last two surprise me.  I understand all the others on the list.  Who doesn’t know at least one song by each of them?  Even I know lyrics for songs by The Beatles and CCR (the only two bands on the list I don’t really care for… I know, I just said I don’t like The Beatles… wth?).  But when did Nine Inch Nails become mainstream?  I don’t remember the transition and I’ve been listening to them since 1990.  For that matter, I get that Rammstein is popular in the US, mainly for their outrageous lyrics and wild stage shows, but “epic?”  Is it because they made German Rock popular?  I would have said Ozzy or Zombie before Rammstein.  Not that I don’t love Rammstein, I do, I just didn’t realize they were that huge of a deal (also, it should be noted that I was listening to Rammstein in the ’90’s, before they were “cool” in the US… I feel like I was ahead of the times and now I’m old and still uncool, but rocking out to this stuff).

By the way, I have moved into the period of life, when all my favorite bands are being played on “oldies” stations.  *sigh*

On a side note, for all those that think listening to “edgy rock” makes them hip (or whatever), my mom listens to and likes Rammstein, Oomph!, Eisbrecher, Ozzy Osbourne, Nine Inch Nails, and Wumpscut.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 11, 2014

    Lol…we all have very different musical tastes …..I’m not sure a person listening to one band or an other makes them “cool” anymore…I’m not sure what makes people “cool” anymore…kids today are just very different

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

