Why, oh, why?


Every site I’ve ever advertised on sends me email deals.  I look at them all.  You never know when you are going to find a gem in one of those emails.  And I’ve found several.

However, every couple of weeks, it seems that every email is filled with only three genres: chick lit, romance, or a fake genre that I call “crisis-fiction.”  The definition of “crisis-fiction” is an entity who is in the middle of a crisis (love, life, faith, etc. and the story is driven by that crisis… technically, this is literary fiction, but crisis fiction seems to be a particular subset of lit fiction).

I have tried these genres and a slew of books within them and came to the same conclusion, it just isn’t my thing.  I know it seems like I am completely anti-romance in books.  This isn’t entirely true.  I read books with romance in them.  I just don’t read books where romance is the primary or secondary plot… especially the primary.  When reading a book that doesn’t have romance as a primary or secondary plot, I tend to just skip those bits.

This week, there have been two days of nothing in my emails.  Sometimes I think romance is the most prolific genre.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lol…yes, Romance is the most prolific genre in fiction right now….I believe romance sales exceed 6-7 Billion each year currently…and those are safe numbers that I’ve read in different financial magazines….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

