Writing Woes


For a few weeks now, I’ve had trouble writing.  Not the next Cain novel, but the new fantasy series.  I don’t know why.  I thought it was the characters, but I’m beginning to believe it is something else.

I’m good at writing blood and gore thrillers with serial killers who do depraved things and have trivial reasons for the behavior.  My newest will be the worst I’ve ever written.  It’s not a game of topping myself, it’s just a good idea that I’m running with.  I actually have several Cain novels thought out.

I have the newest trilogy thought out as well.  But the words do not flow onto the screen.  My fingers freeze up.  The ideas float through my head, each examined and summarily dismissed.  Getting from point A to point B is like traveling down the Nile in a bacon wrapped boat (despite the reputation of the Nile Crocodile, it’s really the Hippopotamuses, which are herbivores, that create the most problems… they are more territorial than hummingbirds, a feat to be sure).

So, I bought a fantasy novel.  I read a lot of thrillers… like a whole lot… over half of what I read are thrillers (about 20% are historical non-fiction works because I’m boring like that and the other 25% or so is horror, fantasy, and “other things” in that order).  Back to the book, it had one of those annoying storylines; girl finds out she has powers, girl gets more powerful as she goes through the book, girl meets boy but isn’t sure whether he’s a good guy or a bad guy, girl falls for boy regardless, girl gains even more power becoming nearly omnipotent, boy turns out not to be bad guy, bad guy dies, girl and boy live happily ever after despite girl being the most powerful being on the planet and possibly, the universe…  It took me about 2 hours to get through the book, but I skipped the awkward dates and sex scenes.

Meaning the fantasy novel did not get my mind churning out ideas that could end up on paper.  If anything, it stifled it even more.  I look at the Strachan novels and wonder if they did that… the answer is “yes.”  (At least until the beginning of the Hidden Demons Trilogy)

Now, I’m wondering if my own fantasy writing is stifling my creative flow.  I’m at a loss as to what to do about it though…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  May 31, 2014

    Huh…good luck solving the dilemma

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

