Living With A Writer


Sometimes, I feel sorry for my family and friends.  It’s hard to live with a writer.  I know, I live with me and it’s hell.

I think the worst part, is the weird, off-the-wall things that come out of our mouths.  I was working today on my next Cain book, adding a chapter to get me started and realized I didn’t know much about saws.  However, my SO does know a lot about saws.  He’s a mechanic by trade, but he’s very “handy.”  He has an assortment of saws.

I fired off this text message:  Will a sawzall cut through human bone?

He responded:  Yes.  Why?

I explained.

His response:  Why did I ask?

Well, I don’t know why you asked.  You knew you didn’t really want to know the answer and it isn’t like I’m the type of person to actually use a sawzall to dismember a body in real life… Dead things creep me out… a lot.  I failed biology because I couldn’t dissect a frog, dismembering anything bigger is right out.

This doesn’t mean I don’t need to know if a sawzall will cut through the femur, I do.  I thought about a skillsaw, but I think the guard would get the way.  Chainsaws have been done to death.  I think I can rule out a jigsaw and one of those saws that have the thin blade that sits on a table and is for intricate detail work (this is not the same as a tablesaw, I just don’t know the name of it, because I don’t know much about saws… I know screwdrivers and wrenches, everything else is out of purview).  Most would go through the smaller bones, but the femur is fairly robust, especially on men.

Also, my next Cain novel is about a cannibal.  There’s going to be an eww factor to it.  My content advisor is really looking forward to that, I’m sure.  Occasionally, I make them queasy with details that get edited out.  I lost a good part of a chapter in Elysium Dreams for this reason.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  May 13, 2014

    I think that was an excellent question to ask! And something you would need to know for the Cain novels for sure.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

