Thank God For Rocks


As most know, I spend the majority of my weekends from April – October at my in-laws campground at Mark Twain Lake.  Most weekends, it’s a good time.  This weekend… not so much.

There are lots of funny stories I could tell.  For example, the people in the camper next to us have two large dogs who love to ride on golf carts.  One day, they hopped onto the cart and one of them sat down on the gas pedal.  The dog owners were running after the golf cart, trying to stop it from going into a small lake on our property.

However, this weekend, I almost caught fire, not nearly as funny.  Friday night, I was grabbing a table for myself and my mother-in-law to put drinks on (non-alcoholic, for the record) and tripped over my feet, a patch of thin air, a rock, who knows… something.  Thank god our fire pit is lined with rocks… as seen below.

photoIf it wasn’t, I would have caught fire, because I fell towards the pit, with a huge fire in it (a lot bigger than the one pictured here, it was cold this weekend).  My ego took a massive hit as I felt really stupid.  Unfortunately, so did my knees, my ribs, my arm, and somehow I bruised both my stomach and my back.  The rocks kept me from hitting the hot metal of the fire ring and it gave me a way to roll away from the fire as I fell.  That’s complicated to explain, just know that it did.

Never would I have imagined that there would be something worse to hit than rocks when falling…

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Glad you were not burned! Were you channeling Michael at the time?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

