Taking A Break


I managed to get almost 50 pages of edits done today.  This evening I am rewarding myself with a break.  Specifically, I’m curled up on the couch with the laptop closed watching the St. Louis Cardinals baseball game.

This may not seem like much, but honestly, for me to just kick back and watch TV is pretty amazing.  I rarely do it.  Most of the time, when the TV is on, I’m still working… writing or editing or tweaking some idea or plotting out the next course of action or my next book and always with the laptop open.  I say most of the time because the moments when I’m not doing these things, I’m cooking dinner or folding laundry or some other task.  It is nearly impossible for me not to be multi-tasking.

However, as I said, tonight, I put my brain on hold and enjoyed the first six innings without interruption (except dinner).  It made me realize something… Baseball announcers talk… a lot… and I have no idea what over half of their conversation is about.  It’s only sort of baseball related.  For example, one of the announcers told a story about Sandy Koufax.  I know my sports well enough to know who Koufax is, I just don’t know why that was relevant.  He was a pitcher and a lefty but never a Cardinal.  So, the story had something to do with the fact that Lyons is a lefty who relieved Lynn.

As a writer, I can sort of relate to that inane chatter.  It goes on in my head most of the time.  My characters chatter at me and I have to glean the information that is important and useable.

Ok, back to the game…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lol…Glad you are taking a break…..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

