The Final Countdown


Most of the time, I feel that The Final Countdown by Europe is my theme song.  The beta readers are supposed to get Explosive Dreams on 1 May.  Only, I’m still working on it.  The song being stuck in my head isn’t helping much either.

It isn’t just the editing either.  It’s the fact that I decided to re-read it.  I should never ever ever ever ever ever ever do such a thing.  Not if I have a deadline.  If I’d taken a moment to stop and think about what I was doing, I would have reminded myself to just acknowledge the edits and go through those sections.

Alas, I didn’t.  Half-way through the book and I’ve re-written entire sections (and an entire chapter or two).  It might be making the book better… It might be making the book worse.  I’m not sure.

Here’s the problem: I can read other people’s books very quickly and not be overly critical or think too much about what I would have done different.  Not so much with my own stuff.  With my own stuff I’m very critical and over think things.

By the time I’m done, I’m going to have a completely new book.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. First off, love your theme song. Second off, this is exactly me every time before I give it to the next reader. I always want to give them the best possible draft and end up reworking it majorly. Then I even find myself re-working WHILE a beta group is working on it. It doesn’t help that I keep getting new ideas haha. Sitting on my hands RE my novel right now and blogging instead. Anyway best of luck on your MS. Save and shut the file down. NOW!! 😛 JK. seriously, best of luck though.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Didn’t I tell you this would happen?…..Lol…..best of luck

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

