Cutting Back


For the most part, I eat healthy.  Healthier than most.  I do have a weakness for Mexican food and donuts, but who doesn’t?  However, I have a vice… Soda.  A soda a day is fine.  Five or six, not so much… more than that and well…

So, a few weeks ago, my concerned mother decided to make another attempt to get me off the soda.  Did I mention I’m allergic to artificial sweeteners, dairy and most metals?  For me, water, regardless of whether bottled or tap, tastes like dirty pennies.  We think it’s because I’m allergic to metals and can therefore taste the harmless minerals in the liquid.  For the record, it is very hard to drink things that taste like dirty pennies and tea actually tastes like even dirtier pennies.

I also have Sjogren’s.  The primary symptoms are dry eyes and dry mouth.  Now, I’m a little young for Sjogren’s and I don’t have another autoimmune disorder.  However, my genetic disorder may have something to do with the autoimmune disorder.  On the flip side, constant dry mouth means I’m constantly thirsty.  Add in my clonazepam and well, I always feel like I have cotton in my mouth, so I constantly drink.  There is a silver lining to this, I have never been dehydrated.

All of these is a recipe for disaster.  I don’t drink much milk anymore (despite loving it), I don’t drink much juice (genetic disorder causes most juices to sit heavily in my stomach), I won’t drink water, tea or coffee and I can’t drink anything with artificial sweeteners.  What’s a girl to do?  Soda in copious quantities, but not the diet stuff, it gives me migraines and makes me feel even more anxious than normal, the sugary stuff.

Back to the story:  A few weeks ago, my concerned mother decided to make another attempt to limit my soda intake.  We stood for an hour in the aisle of my local grocery store examining flavored waters and sports drinks.  Ninety-five percent of them have artificial sweeteners and I was on the verge of giving up when I found a flavored water-like drink that did not have artificial sweeteners… It had stevia.

My knowledge and exposure to stevia has been limited.  I was using my iPhone in the store to research it… And I was pretty sure I wasn’t buying it.  I had never had just Reb A, I’d had a brand of stevia sweetener that I won’t name and I hadn’t reacted well.  No migraine, but I had other effects.  After some chiding from my mother, I broke down and bought one bottle.

I came home, chilled it and drank it, expecting to react badly.  And I had no reaction.  So, I bought a few more bottles to further test it.  Again, they all went down fine and there were no problems.  I’ve been drinking it now for a week.  I like my morning soda still, but once I’ve had a bottle of the stevia flavored water, I find going back to soda a little difficult… It’s very very sweet.  For perhaps the first time ever, I poured out a cup of soda today and at dinner, I went to grab a bottle of the water instead of reaching over and grabbing the soda that was much closer.

This time, I think I might actually be able to cut back on the soda.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

