Editing


I like editing.  I like rewriting.  I do not like looking over edits.  It’s impossible to hit the “accept all changes” button and call it a day, but it’s a dream I have.

Since that day has yet to arrive, I spent several days going over revisions from one editor.  I’m still waiting on the second.  I finished early yesterday evening and decided it was time to do a read through myself.

I’m a write it and forget it kind of gal.  I write the book and shelve it.  The editors go through it, I read their recommendations by using the Word function of tracking changes and I never actually sit down and re-read my book.

The fact that I’m doing it with Explosive Dreams is surprising.  Of all the books I’ve written, no matter how gruesome and gory I’ve gotten in them, this one disturbed me the most.

However, I did decide to read through it, cover to cover, so to speak.  I felt there was something left unfinished in it and I won’t find it by picking through the editors notes… I’m not even sure it really exists… I need to read it to find out.

So, I’m reading my book and I realize why I’m a write and forget it kind of gal.  In the first seven chapters, I’ve made 122 revisions.  That’s a lot of rewriting and rewording that was not suggested by the editor.  It pretty much makes the work of the editor pointless, because now it will need to be edited yet again.

It’s a vicious cycle.  On the flip side, I’m enjoying the book.  I’m also watching episodes of Too Cute! before bed because it gives me nightmares (this is a psychological thing for me, there’s just something about the bomber that gives me, the creator, the creeps… I keep thinking “holy hell, I thought of that?!”).

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  April 23, 2014

    Editing is a two edged sword….lol….it’s great to fix mistakes and errors but you can also find yourself completely re-writing the book too:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. Anne Vuxton

     /  April 17, 2017

    I have been proofreading court documents and a few book manuscripts for over 25 years. I LOVE the Dreams & Reality series and keep checking back to see if the newest is available. I like to write, but I LOVE editing/proofreading. Please contact me if I can help you and I’d be glad to send references! And thank you for many, many hours of pleasurable reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

