Rated R For Non-Stop Violence


I saw this rating tonight on a movie I decided to watch.  For the record, it was a Resident Evil movie and I do love Milla Jovovich.

However, it made me think.  If I had to putting a rating on an Aislinn Cain novel, that would be the rating:  Rated R for Non-Stop Violence.  There’s a tiny amount of bad language in Explosive Dreams, but no nudity or sex.  That doesn’t mean the book is child friendly.  Or even teen friendly.  It definitely deserves an “over 18” warning.

Having said that, I was reading things like that when I was about eleven.  So, physical age is subjective.  I’m not sure I’m a better person for being able to read books like the Cain novels at that age, it was just one of those things.

It brought to mind another thought though or rather a memory.  And you can’t judge the parent involved for this:  at the tender age of 7, one of my parents took me to see the movie Death Wish in theaters.  I don’t know which one, I don’t remember enough about it to recognize it.  I have never seen another one of the movies and I can honestly say that I have no desire to see them.  Despite this lapse in judgment by one of my guardians, I didn’t turn out damaged because of it.

What it did do was desensitize me to ratings.  I rarely notice the ratings on movies and I never pay attention when someone tells me a book should have a rating.  So, it surprised me when I did notice the rating tonight.  It wasn’t really the “R” that caught my attention… It was the “Non-stop violence” disclaimer.  I have never thought of the movies as being one long non-stop, blood, guts, and gore fest.  Sure, it’s a zombie movie, but it is entertaining.  And Oded Fehrir provides great eye-candy.  But there you have it…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  April 7, 2014

    I do notice ratings because my parents made a big deal about them…lol…but I do love the Resident Evil movies and could care less about the violence in them…I love Aislinn so that’s not an issue for me either….I remember watching “Marnie” by Hitchcock (which has way more adult issues in it) when I was young and I wasn’t damaged…lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

