Wrote Another Book


So, the other day, in the wee hours of the morning, I finished writing Explosive Dreams.  I always feel spent afterwards, like I’ve poured all my energy into the task of writing and now that I’m done with it, I have nothing left.  I’m recharging my batteries now.

There’s something strange about finishing a book.  Not only does it feel exhausting, but it feels… sad.  For a few days, I bum around wondering what to do next.  This feeling was greater when I wasn’t publishing.  Since I am, there are things to keep me busy, like getting it to the editor and the beta readers.  There’s a cover reveal to be done.  There’s marketing to plan.

Yet, none of that sounds appealing.  I just want to sit back on my haunches and be slightly down because yet another episode of my make believe world has passed.  And this one was a long one, time wise… It spans from July to November.  That’s a long time in Aislinn Cain years.  She has a birthday in this book, growing another year older.  It’s strange to think that way, but Aislinn Cain has aged a year, at least chronologically.  She probably aged five years physically.  Of course, I can control this, both physically and chronologically and the next book may only span a week or even a few days.  The next seven books might only span a few months, despite taking me two years or so to write.

Anyway, so that’s my mood… Now it’s time to contact the editor.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Cheer up! There’s plenty to do and you could always pull an Aislinn and hunker down to play a game or watch a movie:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

