If You Love Something…


There are tons of colloquialisms about love.  If you love something, set it free.  If you love your job, you’ll never work a day in your life.  If it’s true love, it will survive anything.

These are all fine and dandy, they make us feel better.  But do they actually hold up?

I love writing, I love playing darts, both of these occasionally feel a lot like work… and darts is just a hobby.  I truly love my SO, this doesn’t mean that he doesn’t irritate the snot out of me sometimes.  And by the way, it’s a relationship, it takes a lot of work.  Also, if I set him free, he isn’t coming back.  Why would he?  I just kicked him to the curb.  What sort of masochist would do that to themselves?  Oh, Mr. Darcy would, does in fact, in Pride & Prejudice, but that is not one of those art reflecting life moments.  In the real world, Darcy would probably find a girl to bed and a bottle to help him forget Elizabeth Bennett.  When forced to deal with her, he wouldn’t be catering to her whims, he’d be pissed.  I get it, he would be human and not a character in a book.

As a writer, I occasionally forget how much work love really is.  Thankfully for me, I don’t have to deal with the realities of love.  That’s what fiction is for, to take you a step or two away from real life.

So, I’ve been working away, writing every night, adjusting to my new schedule, trying to figure out how my SO fits into it exactly and balance all these other things that are going on in my life.  All the while, I’ve been thinking about love.  Primarily because I did watch Pride & Prejudice in short clips over the last couple of days.  Not the choppy Kiera Knightly version, but the BBC min-series production… Six hours of Colin Firth as Darcy and Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth.  They were both awesome in their roles in that movie.

But I digress.  So, I’m working and I’m thinking about love and then it hits me.  I don’t ever think about love.  It just happens.  I fell in love with writing.  It wasn’t planned.  I didn’t try to become passionate about the craft.  It just happened.  I fell in love with darts.  It was never my intent.  As a matter of fact, it was simply a “date night” when I first hooked up with my SO.  He played on Wednesdays and I started to attend because it was a night when I wasn’t busy.  However, while writing a Cain novel, as I’m doing now, I never think about love.  Love has little to do with Aislinn or her life.  Yes, she loves.  She loves her mother and Nyleena and her buddies in the SCTU and perhaps, non-romantically, she loves Malachi… that is still questionable.  But she doesn’t “love.”

Just something to think about… how different would your life be without the ability of love to just happen to you?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Love is hard and I hate those witty sayings like love doesn’t take honest to goodness hard work – I actually blame those kind of sayings (along with some other societal things) on our divorce rate – when people are told that love is easy and not hard work and their relationships take work; they think they’ve failed with the one they’re with and that they’re with the wrong one….although I love the movie “Love Story”, I couldn’t disagree more with Jenny (Ali McGraw’s character) when she says “that love means never having to say you’re sorry” – love means saying sorry a lot – just my two cents…lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

