Beginning?


For several weeks now, I have been randomly checking my blood sugar.  I’m over thirty with a high risk of diabetes (father has it, plus I have PCOS).  Also, I’ve been having “episodes.”  This means that once in a while, I feel hot, light headed and my vision gets a little blurry.

I’m finding that it stays around 70 in the morning and at night, but in the afternoons, something wonky happens.  I ate lunch four hours ago and 45 minutes after eating, my level was about 100.  Now, it is 146.  This is a little high, especially since I haven’t eaten anything to cause such a spike.  And it will stay this way for some time.  Around the time I eat dinner, it will drop back into the “normal for me” range.  After dinner, it will elevate slightly, but it won’t get this high again.

Now, I have no idea what this means.  When I started this, I was expecting to find that either I was having spells of hypoglycemia or that my blood sugars were elevated all the time.  The act of eating dinner bringing it back down is even stranger.  For example, on Saturday, I had a spell and grabbed an early dinner.  Eating made me feel “normal” again.  I didn’t have my meter with me to take my level at that time, but I feel the same today that I did on Saturday.  Considering it is 4 in the afternoon, it’s a little early for eating dinner, but I’m not sure if I should eat something else or not and if so, what…

It might be time to talk to the doctor.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  March 24, 2014

    Yes, please check with your doctor. I’m a type 2 diabetic and it’s not too horrible but I really miss regular soda:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. I am older and type 2 diabetic, also bipolar. You might want to investigate either Keto or Paleo food plans. I find that eliminating refined foods ( one could substitute unnatural, unhealthy, or toxic for refined ) results in much more stable blood sugars and moods, as well as removing most GMO items from the diet. Just going organic could help resolve subtle issues.

    Like

    Reply
    • Diabetes would be a side-effect of a much larger genetic disorder which keeps me from producing enzymes to break-down folic acid. I already buy organic, but I have to be very careful about the types of vegetables and serving amounts on a daily basis because folic acid creates a toxin when it can’t be processed. Since I also have migraines, my meat intake is limited to small amounts of red meat, no pork, no fish or shellfish and no venison. I live on chicken and root veggies that are low in folic acid already. I don’t eat potatoes or anything particularly starchy. My biggest problem with being diabetic would be my soda and dairy intake. Since I can have both, I indulge in both, with zeal. Being diabetic would remove that indulgence.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

