The Story Teller


Most cultures have a special name for a “story teller.”  That concept fascinates me as both a historian and a writer.  These story tellers not only pass along the oral history of the culture, but for thousands of years, they were the primary source of entertainment.

My father is a story teller.  He has great delivery, never misses a line or flubs up a word, it’s just a natural gift.  Growing up, I loved listening to my dad tell stories of his life.  As an adult, I find my fascination with my dad’s stories hasn’t diminished.

Yesterday, I posted a very short piece of flash fiction inspired by a true event that happened to my father when he was younger.

The setup:  My father has always worked construction.  It’s his thing.  He could have done other things, but he never really wanted a job outside of driving a semi and doing construction.

He and another guy he worked with got a call from a pastor one day.  One of the larger obelisk grave stones was tumbling over.  The two loaded up a back-hoe and went to fix the monument.  My dad was running the large piece of machinery and the other guy was supposed to be measuring how deep dad was digging.  Either the other guy wasn’t paying attention or the coffin wasn’t buried six feet below, because my dad picked up a bucket of dirt and when he emptied it, there was the skull sitting on top of the pile with some bits of wood.  Both men are fraidy-cats and took off.  Someone else had to go back, bury the skull and the busted coffin and reset the falling obelisk.

It is one of my dad’s favorite stories to tell.  I’ve heard it dozens of times with no variations, except that sometimes the guy wasn’t paying attention to the depth and sometimes the coffin wasn’t at the expected depth.

Out of respect for the dead, I didn’t mention the cemetery or the name of the pastor or the grave my father disturbed… all of which I know.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  March 19, 2014

    Storytellers are an important part of every society:) So that’s where you get your storytelling gene

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

