Yes, I feel stupid… thanks for asking!


Several years ago, my best friend and I took a trip to Berlin, Germany.  Now, I do not spook easily.  Nothing that goes bump in the night can make me jump.  Getting me to startle at a movie is a rarity.  My nephews, while they were growing up, were constantly trying to scare me.  They’d jump out at me, whatever.  I don’t remember it ever working, maybe once or twice, but not more than that.  The last few days, I’ve been watching My Ghost Story.  As I watch, all I can think is that “nope, wouldn’t live there, wouldn’t visit there.”

Anyway, back to the story.  We took this trip to Berlin, Germany.  My friend decided it would be fun to go to one of the many “haunted attractions” offered in the ancient city and for some reason, my dumb ass agreed.  We had been in the haunted attraction about three minutes, when I saw a costumed worker sneaking around.  Then I saw him sneaking towards us.

The fact that I saw him, was nothing short of miraculous, because about thirty seconds into the haunted attraction, I grabbed the back of my friend’s shirt and buried my face.  However, occasionally, I had to peek out, just to make sure she wasn’t getting us lost and there might have been something cool to see.  I saw the costumed worker.

When the worker jumped out and grabbed me a minute later, you would have thought I was prepared for it.  After all, I had seen him.  I knew he was going to jump out and scare me.

Alas, I jumped, screamed like a little girl and only my best friend’s hands on me kept me from running away.  And I do meaning running away, I was looking for large exit signs and I didn’t care if they were fire exits or regular exits.  I just knew I had to get away.

I think it is safe to say that my “flight or fight” instinct leans really far towards “flight,” especially when it comes to hauntings.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  March 2, 2014

    Well, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one that “screams” like a little girl and wants to run away instead of sticking around…lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

