eSurance Commercial


This is why I don’t watch much television.  Not because of this particular commercial, but because of commercials in general.  However, today, I’m going to pick on eSurance.

With my first weekend of digital cable watching shows like A HauntingAncient Aliens (good grief, someone call an intervention team), and just about everything on Investigation Discovery, I watched a lot of commercials.  Only one stood out: eSurance and their new 7 1/2 minutes to get a quote.  What?!?

I get that they are making fun of Geico.  That isn’t my issue.  At what point did we become so jaded and time short that we have to have an insurance quote in 7 1/2 minutes?  It takes longer to make a toasted peanut butter & honey sandwich.

And what about quality?  I want to spend time looking at my options for car insurance and talking to an agent.  So I filled out a form, just to see where it got me.  I agree, it took less than 8 minutes for me to get my quote.  It was ridiculous, not the time, but the quote.  At 33, I have had one traffic ticket (for failure to stop before enter an intersection) and only one accident, that was found to be not my fault.  I have one other driver on my policy and she has never had a ticket or a traffic accident (my mother).  Now, I do have points off my license for driving under the influence of migraine medications.  Although, that was ten years ago or more, so I might have gotten those points back (for those playing at home, I slid into a ditch on the highway, I did not take any cars, signs or other objects with me, I did not damage my car and I have no memory of why I went into the ditch… I have a strong suspicion that it was the result of either a black out or sparkly vision, both common with my migraines and not a result of the medications).

So, back to eSurance.  My quote was $328 a month.  I attempted to tweak options.  I attempted to change some coverage.  eSurance wouldn’t let it happen.  I called and was told all agents were busy, they’d get back to me.  Nearly 24 hours later, I haven’t heard back on my quote or why it is so high (I currently pay $103 a month for two vehicles and two drivers for the same amount of coverage and for the record, neither driver has submitted a claim to this insurance company during the seven years we’ve had it, except for hail damage after a huge storm in which everyone was submitting hail damage claims).

Yes, my quote was fast.  Everything after it sucked.  As the day progressed, I found myself making snide comments when the commercial came on or flipping the channel.  Are we really willing to sacrifice service for speed?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  February 24, 2014

    Lol…I have to agree about the absurdity of buying car insurance, or any insurance, that quickly. I’ve tried it once and like you ended up with the most outrageous quote – I literally looked at the screen like 5 times thinking I had done something wrong but no it was just an outrageous quote…and then they called to find out why I didn’t buy it…lol..Like you most of the time after I’ve watched a commercial I’m not even sure what it was for…lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

