Book Tour


I am trying to get a blog tour set up for Dark Cotillion.  This is harder than it sounds.  I wrote DC a year and a half ago, now they want three excerpts from it.  Um… I don’t remember the book well enough to pull out three excerpts from it.

So my primary goal today is to re-read Dark Cotillion.  Should be interesting or something akin to it.

The other problem, I’m not sure what three excerpts.  Unlike the Cain novels, few things jump out at me in the Strachan novels.  From Dark Legacies, I remember Brenna saying “he better not eat my donuts.”  This is very funny in context, but it’s the wrong book.  I don’t remember any great lines or interesting paragraphs from Cotillion.

I believe I’m in for a long day.  Wish me luck!

On another note, Dark Cotillion is currently ranked 8th in Amazon’s Dark Fantasy Free book list.  It was 1st for about an hour on Monday.  It has been downloaded 1,000+ times this month.  It’s the best download month I’ve had for it.  However, I’ve checked the categories that I listed it under, “Dark Fantasy” wasn’t one of them.    Dark Fantasy is a subgenre of horror and I don’t consider these to be horror novels.  Well, maybe they are, the whole fighting for the end of the world and creatures eating beings might be considered horrific, but I don’t think so.  However, after looking, all four novels have been classified as Dark Fantasy.  It’s strange to see my book listed in an area that I didn’t select.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  February 19, 2014

    Yeah…I’m not sure it’s dark fantasy but the subject matter of the end of the world and the things some of antagonists are trying to do is dark so I guess some would consider it dark fantasy…it’s a very interesting world.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Good luck with your book tour! And that sounds pretty dark to me, lol. Geez, what does it take for you to label something as dark? I think my standards are different than yours 🙂 Maybe I’m just a scaredy-cat.

    Like

    Reply
    • I don’t know what qualifies as “dark fantasy.” I don’t think my writing qualifies. 😀

      Like

      Reply
      • From wiki:
        Dark fantasy is a subgenre of fantasy which can refer to literary, artistic and filmic works that combine fantasy with elements of horror. The term can be used broadly to refer to fantastical works that have a dark, gloomy atmosphere or a sense of horror and dread.

        Like

  3. Brianna – If that is the requirement for “dark fantasy” than the Strachan series probably fits.

    Maria – I hope that means you are enjoying it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

