Dark Legacies


Dark Legacies, the final Strachan novel has released!  Get it at Amazon, Nook, or Smashwords… Coming soon to iBooks.

Here’s an excerpt:

Less than one hundred feet from my front door, the magic became stronger.  It prickled the hair on the back of my neck.  If I’d had arm hair, it would have stood up.  Whatever it was, it was right behind me.

I turned and the scream became lodged in my throat, resulting in a gurgling noise issuing from my mouth.

The creature before me was at least ten feet tall.  A large, long, muzzle-like mouth protruded from a mostly human skull.  Its skin seemed as though it had been stretched over its skeletal frame.  Large teeth were set in the muzzle and it constantly chomped them together with enough force that I thought they would shatter.  If it had been wearing a black hood and carrying a scythe, it would have looked like Death.

Taloned fingers grabbed hold of my arms.  Blood red eyes that glowed, stared at me.  It moved in close, its breath was hot and smelled of decay.  Aside from the chomping, it made no noise.  It moved closer, brushing my hair back with its muzzle.  A large, demon-like horn brushed my face.

Whatever spell I was under, broke.  The scream finally exited my throat, creating a shrill, panicked noise like a dying rabbit in the dark.  I shoved magic into the thing and it backed away.  Blood was dripping from its arms.  It hadn’t been my doing.  The wounds didn’t look fresh.  As I stared, it bit into its arm, tearing out a chunk of meat and swallowing it whole.

It lunged at me again.  Gnashing its teeth as it sunk its claws into my flesh again.  The magic flowed from it, pushing against me as if it were trying to possess my soul.  My natural defenses lashed out.  I kicked with one foot, catching the gaunt figure with claws and tearing away the skin at the knee.  It felt leathery and dry.

Dark, thick blood seeped from the wound and the air filled with the smell of decaying flesh.  I shoved magic at it again and felt it push its own back.  The feeling was overwhelming.  I was struck by panic and horror.  As I turned to run, I felt it sink its teeth into my shoulder and hit my collar bone, snapping it.  We tumbled to the ground with it on top.  It flipped me over as if I was as light as a feather.  Sharp teeth struck my throat and tore it out.  My lungs stopped working on instinct.  Blood gushed from the wound, spilling onto the ground, creating a huge pool of shimmering darkness.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  February 14, 2014

    Congratulations on the release Hadena! Thanks for the excerpt!…..
    Happy Valentines Day too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

