Break Time?


Last night, I was typing along, words flowing, fingers flying, story making it’s way onto the page and it was suddenly and unexpectedly, intermission.  My character just stopped going like she had been and decided to take a nap, a shower and a food break… In the middle of EVERYTHING.

Well, then, whatever.  I figured I’d go back and rewrite the scene today, because frankly, it was a weird place for an intermission.  I move the finished chapter to the scratch pad and go back to work on it.  Nope, she stopped again.

As the writer, I’m supposed to dictate what she does and doesn’t do.  I get that with the way it’s been going, she should be tired, cranky, hungry and miserable.  It doesn’t mean she can just stop, drop everything and go to bed.

I wrote it a third time.  She did it again.  I’m leaving it.  Maybe the editor can prod her along.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

