Gadgets, Gizmos and Games


In late December, I decided to upgrade from my messaging phone (which wasn’t smart enough to log onto Facebook) to an iPhone (heaven help us all).  I use Sprint and have for 20+ years for my cell service and my upgrade became available on 1 January 2014.  So, bring on the iPhone.

The first thing I loaded was the Kindle Reading App and the iBooks app.  I followed that by downloading my own books to my Kindle Reading App.  This is partly vanity and partly common sense, I get asked about my books a lot; having them on my phone makes it easy for me to just show them to people.

After that it was time for gaming apps and gizmo apps and gadget apps.  I downloaded the flashlight, a constellation/star identifier, UrbanSpoon, AroundMe and a handful of other useful apps.  I also downloaded more than a few gaming apps (have I ever mentioned I am a gaming junkie?).

However, last week, I noticed my SO had download a timesheet app (he also has an iPhone).  He can “clock in” and “clock out” on his phone or do manual time entries.  For a week, when he wasn’t paying attention, I studied the app.  Yesterday I downloaded it.

One of the requirements was that I set a “Rate of Pay” or a “Variable Rate of Pay” because every entry has to have a pay rate.  I settled on $0.50 an hour for my writing.  This is low, I know, but I didn’t want to manually enter a pay rate every time I wrote.  Last night, I used it for the first time on my writing.  I “clocked in” when I started and “clocked out” when I stopped.

My total writing time last night was 4 hours and 3 minutes.  Not bad at all, I managed 6,000 words during the time (a record for me I think) and according to my rate of pay, I made $2.00.

I didn’t download the app to track money though.  Its purpose is to track exactly how many hours a month I spend writing.  I think it will be interesting to treat it like a “real job” and track my hours to the minute.  I’ll report back at the end of February on how the time went…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  January 21, 2014

    That’s an interesting app….my phone guy actually talked me out of the Iphone and into a Galaxy ….lol

    Like

    Reply
    • My nephew has a Galaxy. They’ve had to replace it seven times because of a battery issue.

      My friend, the super geek, talked me into the iPhone because the apps were more secure. Google doesn’t screen their apps like iTunes does, according to her.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

