4 GB


I have a phobia of wind, so I’m still awake.  The technical name is ancraophobia, just in case you were wondering.

However, I discovered something astonishing tonight.  As my anxiety levels rose because of the freaking wind (which is currently gusty and making me anxious enough that I can’t sleep, even with my meds), I remembered I hadn’t backed up my stories folder in a while.

I discovered something terrifying… my entire life’s work, can be summed up in four gigs of data.

Most people can’t sum up their life’s work in 4 gigs of data.  There are too many pictures, too much work, too much life.  Part of me says that as a human being, my life’s work is not the sum of just my writing… I have pictures and memories and college course work that was kept in case I ever needed to refer to it and previous publications from places where I have worked and TV shows and movies and music that had to be saved… but all that is backed up on an external hard drive.  Last back up date: September 2013.  Nothing else has happened since that time, except my growing catalog of written words.

And that can be safely packed away on a cheap thumb drive with less than 5 gigs of space.  I don’t know why I find that depressing.  Word documents don’t take megabytes of data storage, even the longest novel I’ve ever written doesn’t require a megabyte of storage.  So, having 4 gigs should seem prolific and yet, it seems sad.

Ah well, it’s backed up and all is right with the world, except the damn wind…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I feel this way from time to time. Especially in the winter when it’s harder to go out and live a bit more. Life experiences can be everything. Especially for a writer.

    Maybe do a ride along with the police 🙂 Stretch out of your comfort zone a bit and you’ll feel better for it. I’ve decided to take a Krav Maga class. Just to try it out and have that experience 😉

    Your character shoots from time to time. Maybe head over to Target Masters for some practice of your own!

    Like

    Reply
    • I love ride alongs. The last one I did, we answered a domestic call where a man was wielding a shotgun and the cop ended up tasering him and there was a bank alarm tripped by a raccoon.

      I think I just want my schedule to clear up some. I was gone all last weekend. I’ve had flu and complications from the flu. I have a dart tournament this weekend. And I’m in the downhill of my latest novel, so I write at warp speed and full the need to write all the time. I think I just need “me” time… Six hours of Pride & Prejudice or a marathon of White Chapel or some other British TV show, a box of donuts (or chocolates), and “me” time.

      Like

      Reply
      • Your ride along sounds awesome! I need to go ahead and schedule one 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, yes you do! I’ve done 15 or so and I always have a good time… once with a state trooper even. The police officers are always very helpful and answer all my prying questions. They make sure I understand what is happening, what is going to happen and why it happened.

        Like

      • Awesome! I’ll book one this spring!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

